Go Back   Shreveport.com > Public Forums > Schools & Education

Notices

Old 08-05-2006, 02:02 AM   #1
Cadenza

Rep Power: 0 Cadenza will become famous soon enough Cadenza will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to Cadenza
Starting school in early August

Caddo Parish teachers go back to school this Monday, August 7. The students soon follow on Wednesday, August 9. Back when school started around Labor Day, students and teachers suffered in the heat for at least a month. Now it is two months at minimum. Yes, the schools are mostly air-conditioned, but many have window units that freeze up and leave us miserable. It also means much more of the budget goes to cooling the schools in the hottest two months of the year.

As a teacher, I would much prefer to go longer in the spring and into June, if necessary, and not return until late August at the earliest, and preferably September. The rationale for going back so soon is so that high school students can take their final exams before the Christmas holiday break. It is apparently believed that they are going to forget everything they learned all semester in two weeks. This doesn't say much for the education system, does it? The powers that be think the kids won't study. Truth be told, those who won't study won't anytime, and those who will, will study even over holidays.

My sister teaches in Texas. She told me they have now passed a law that starting next year, no district is allowed to start school before Labor Day. Sounds like a good plan to me!
Old 08-06-2006, 03:42 PM   #2
kansast
Advanced Member

Rep Power: 223 kansast has a spectacular aura about kansast has a spectacular aura about kansast has a spectacular aura about
I agree 100%

Who starts school.. especially this early in August !

now when I went to school back in the day, we didn't start until after Labor day as well.. Of course we used to go to school, sometimes well into June, due to the number of Snow days we used to have.

Kansast